Local Schools, Athletes Receive SWIOA Awards and Scholarships

Local Sources - The Southwestern Indiana Officials Association named Jasper, Forest Park, Springs Valley and Northeast Dubois High Schools the winners of their “Hospitality Awards” for 2022-23.  

By a vote of members, officials in all sports cast their votes for the school which provides the best hospitality at contest sites.  Jasper, Forest Park, Springs Valley and Northeast Dubois were the schools tallying the most votes this year and their Athletic Directors (Phil Kendall-Jasper, Doug Louden-Forest Park, Kelly Schmitt-Springs Valley and Terry Friedman-Northeast Dubois) were presented with a plaque at the SWIOA banquet held April 15th.

As winners, each school was asked to select a female and a male student/athlete who best exemplifies Sportsmanship.  Jasper selections receiving $1,000 scholarships were Tori Brandt and Jax Bower, Forest Park recipients are Amber Tretter and Carter Hinson, Springs Valley winners were Brynne Buchanan and Max Pendley with Northeast Dubois choosing Reagan Knies and Caleb Hughes.

In addition, two $1,000 SWIOA Membership Scholarships were awarded:

Kate Herrmann – daughter of Joe and Kalyn Herrmann

Sophie Carnahan -- daughter of Dan and Amy Carnahan

With this year’s awards, the Southwestern Indiana Officials Association has awarded a total of $78,500 in the past 19 years to student-athletes as a result of their Hospitality/Sportsmanship Program.  Funds for the scholarships are raised through a golf scramble held each July with officials/coaches/athletic directors in the nine county area served by the SWIOA. 

To learn how to become an IHSAA official, please contact Paul Wahl (812-630-4069) or visit www.ihsaa.org