Jasper Rotary Names 2019 Athena Awards Finalists, Awards Ceremony August 22nd

From Local Sources

JASPER -- The Rotary Club of Jasper, hosting its eighth annual ATHENA International Leadership Award® presentation in Dubois County, has announced this year’s six finalists. They are Jane Balsmeyer, Jenny Fowler, Judy Jochem-Nino, Tracy Lorey, Nancy Otte, and Jill Wigand. The Rotary Club of Jasper’s web site www.jasperrotary.com will soon have more finalist information. The event will be held at the Huntingburg Event Center on Thursday, August 22, 2019, beginning at 6:00 p.m. with Sue Ellsperman, a Ferdinand native, former Lieutenant Governor of Indiana, former Indiana House Representative, and current President of Ivy Tech Community College, as the keynote speaker. The dinner will begin at 6:30 pm.

Founded in 1982 by Martha Mayhood Mertz, ATHENA® International is a non-profit organization that seeks to support, develop and honor women leaders. The program inspires women to reach their full potential and strives to create balance in leadership worldwide. Supporting, honoring, and developing women leaders are the foundations of the ATHENA Leadership Model®, developed through a grant from the W.K. Kellogg Foundation. The model identifies eight distinct attributes that are reflective of women’s contributions to leadership: Authentic Self, Relationships, Giving Back, Collaboration, Courageous Acts, Learning, Fierce Advocacy, and Celebration & Joy

These personal traits combined with the strongest aspects of traditional leadership—taking risks, assertiveness, and hard work—prepare women to be successful leaders in the 21st Century. These seven women are recognized for demonstrating these characteristics in their lives.