Local Election Results

It was a strong night for Republicans nationwide as they retained control of the House of Representatives and now will control the Senate as well.

Republican incumbent Larry Bucshon defeated Democrat Tom Spangler and Libertarian Andrew Horning to retain his Congressional District 8 seat for Indiana.

Dubois County Republicans weren’t quite as successful in county races even though they won three races Tuesday night.

Republican Bridgette Jarboe holds her seat as Dubois County Clerk by defeating Democrat Cheryl Schnell.

For Dubois County Council, Republican Charmian Klem won over Democrat Nancy Wilson in a race that saw Wilson with an early lead.

Finally, in the Madison Township Trustee Race, Kitty Merkley was victorious over Jay Terwiske.

Democrats, though, won two jewels of the county last night by taking the seat for Dubois County Circuit Court Judge with Nathan Verkamp and County Commissioner seat with Elmer Brames.

Democrat Brames defeated Republican Doug Uebelhor to gain the seat on the Commissioners.

Not to be outdone, Becky Beckman takes a seat on the Dubois County Council and Becky Gates keeps her seat as Dubois County Recorder.

Those were the big results of the night locally.

In other races that affect local voters, Republican Erin Houchin defeated incumbent Democrat Richard Young for the Senate District 47 seat.

Republican Mark Messmer took the Senate District 48 seat.

Republican Lloyd Arnold retains his House District 74 seat by winning against Democrat Chris Coyle.

Advertise with Us!